Open Printer Surgery

Tools

Tools

One of my least favourite type of problems today; printer issue.

Printer issues tend to either be very simple or simply impossible.

In this case an HP OfficeJet all-in-one (printer, scanner, copier and fax) was making some horrible noises and reporting “paper jam” continuously. At best it would feed a sheet half through and then stop with the error.

Yesterday I had tried my usual range of fixes. I had turned it off and back on, unplugged it for a minute, reset the cartridges and peered inside to see anything obvious loose or stuck. No joy.

Back in the world at this point I’d have given up and ordered a replacement (here for example is a superior replacement model listed with PCW for £99 inc VAT).

But here that’s not an option. Trying to get NFPDN to authorise through and buy a new one would take a month in absolute best case and the office would be without printer and fax (fax being a highly important form of communication here) for the duration.

So, having confirmed that it was definately out of warranty (4 years), it was time to crack open the toolkit and (for the first time in Namibia) get the torque drivers out and about.

Performing open printer surgery in this way is usually a last ditch attempt and more often than not the patient expires in a twang of springs covering the desk in ink.

Well not today. Took everything apart, found nothing obviously wrong but three or four times of moving all the mechanisms by hand and cleaning errant ink from surfaces and she roared back to life.

Closed her back up and she’s back working to the same horrific crunching noise levels as before. By my reckoning I’ve bought at least another week or so of life.

Surgery Pictures – Warning Contains Graphic Internal Printer Shots

5610 very sick pre-op

5610 very sick pre-op

I might be able to save her sister but it’ll be touch and go.

5610 mid operation

5610 mid operation

Oh my god we’re loosing her – nurse mop my brow STAT!

5610 post-op, it's pulled through

5610 post-op, it's pulled through

She’s going to live nurse… but my god it never gets any easier

Tags: , , ,


