From Tiny Acorns

A couple of weeks have passed since I mentioned two new projects one of which (VSO Journals) was impeccably timed as just the very next day another VSO blogger wrote a post about social media and NGOs which amongst other points bemoaned a lack of just such a system.

I felt duty bound to comment and before I knew it Steve had emailed me and did a second post on my little project.

In the time since I have had several nice emails from people about the site including one from Mike Sheppard the guy behind Peace Corps Journals. I had always assumed that PCJ was an official site but it turns out not to be the case, you can read about the site history here.

Today I received an email from Alex in VSO’s communications department. When I saw the sender my first thought was “the game is up” and I was about to receive a volunteer placement review for using their name in vein. I shouldn’t have worried though, I had forgotten VSO are a groovy bunch of guys and gals who always know where their towels are.

Apparently VSO are working on something similar in an official capacity and Alex just wanted to say “hi” and give me a list of some other VSO blogs which are now included in the VSO Journals index. Good stuff.

So a big thank you to everyone who has emailed. Please use the site, submit new blogs and let me know if you have any suggestions.

